National Transition Coversation Agenda

October 5-6, 2021

You may attend as many or as few sessions as you would like!

2-Day Schedule

(Subject to updates, so please check back occasionally.)

Tuesday, October 5

TimeSessionPanelists
EDT 10:00-11:00 a.m.
PDT 7:00-8:00 a.m.
Welcome to the National Transition Conversation – WelcomeOlaya Landa-Vialard – Director of APH Connect Center
Richard Rueda – APH ConnectCenter Program Manager
Paul Schroeder – APH Vice President, Government and Community Affairs
15 minutesBreak
EDT 11:15-12:30 p.m.
PDT 8:15-9:30 a.m.
Peer Mentoring:  Policy, Technical Assistance and Program and Service Supports (WIOA, PreETS and Inclusive Peer Mentoring Supports)

Abstract:  Peer Mentoring as a Pre-Employment Transition Service (PreETS) and the emergence of technical assistance supporting program practice and fidelity of service provision.  Panelists will explore inclusive youth peer mentoring programs and the emerging practice of peer mentoring as a transition support in Vocational Rehabilitation (VR). 

Moderator: Derek Shields (NDMC)
Christine Johnson – NTACT-C PreETS
Steven Allen – PolicyWorks / Peer MentoringWorks Community of Practice (PMW CoP)
Kristin Humphrey – Partners for Youth with Disabilities (PYD)
15 minutesBreak
EDT 12:45-2:00 p.m
PDT 9:45-11:00 a.m.
VR Peer Mentoring: Program design and the benefits of peer mentoring to Rehab Service Providers, Mentors and Mentees (youth and students with disabilities).

Abstract: Peer Mentoring Programs serving youth and students with disabilities and the employment of youth and students with disabilities as peer mentors. Panelist will describe program designs, service objectives, and the challenges and opportunities in the field of peer mentor supported youth and student transition
Moderator: Kyann Flint
Steven Allen – Policyworks / Peer MentoringWorks
Horace Brown – FL DVR Youth Peer Mentoring
Dorothy Young – MDRS VRB and the NFB
Brianna Murray – VA DBVI and RISE (PreETS Peer Mentoring)

Wednesday, October 6

TimeSessionPanelists
EDT 10:00-10:45 a.m.
PDT 7:00-7:45 a.m.
APH CareerConnect Intro & Day 1 Recap.
A special message from Joe Strechay
Olaya Landa-Vialard – Director of APH Connect Center
Richard Rueda – APH ConnectCenter Program Manager
Joe Strechay – Co-Executive Producer and Consultant
15 minutesBreak
EDT 11:00-12:30 p.m.
PDT 8:00-9:30 a.m.
How Does It Work: Agencies & Mentor/Mentee Panel

Abstract: Peer mentoring comes in many flavors. By sharing the experiences of agency leaders, mentors, and mentees we’ll explore how different blindness agencies have successfully implemented peer mentor programs in a variety of ways to meet the needs of their diverse clientele.

Moderator: Ann Wei-Yee Kwong – Mentoring and Employment with Diversity and Equity
Melissa Lomax – NJ Commission 
Daniel Martinez – METAS & NFB of Texas 
Neva Fairchild – AFB Blind Leaders Dev. Program
Amy Jine – Vista Center Mentor/Mentee Program
Cynthia Fassler – Mentor and Business Owner
Kevin Andrews – Mentee



Save the Date: Late October 2021

Join us for part two of this important discussion at the: Inclusive Mentoring and Employment Policy Summit.

Building on the National Transition Conversation’s Mentoring Initiatives, Programs, and Policies meeting;
The Inclusive Mentoring and Employment Policy Summit will explore how the power of personal relationships changes the trajectory of employment.


Register Here

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.