Agenda

May 9 13, 2022

8:30 AM – 12:00 PM (PDT)

11:30 AM – 3:00 PM (EDT)

You may attend as many or as few sessions as you would like!

The agenda was developed to make it as easy as possible to plan your week around the sessions. Pick and choose according to your schedule.

5-Day Overview

More information coming soon!

(Schedule subject to updates, so please check back occasionally.)

MondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFriday
Welcome Announcements Welcome Announcements Welcome Announcements Welcome Announcements Welcome Announcements
Keynote 1: Ted Henter, JAWSKeynote 2: Léonie Watson, TetralogicalKeynote 3: Andreas Stefik, University of Nevada, Las VegasKeynote 4: Michael Curran, NV Access LimitedKeynote 5: Kisiah Timmons, Yahoo, Inc.
Panel 1: Getting Started with CodingPanel 2: Web Design and Accessibility with HTML and CSS Panel 3: Understanding Coding Concepts with Quorum Panel 4: Where Can Python Take You?Panel 5: Coding—It’s Not Just for Geeks
Presentation w/ Q&A 1A (for students): Jump into Code Jumper Presentation and Q&A 2A (for students): Break out with HTML: navigate an escape room to learn about accessibility with HTMLPresentation and Q&A 3A (for students): Robots, Games, and Apps, Oh My!Presentation and Q&A 4A (for students): Destroying OphidiophobiaCareerConnect Success Story: Interview with Andres Gonzalez from Apple
Presentation w/ Q&A 1B (for teachers): Beyond the Block: How to bring coding concepts to lifePresentation and Q&A 2B (for teachers): Accessible Web DevelopmentPresentation and Q&A 3B (for teachers): Getting Started with Quorum, an Accessible Programming and Research-Based ExperiencePresentation and Q&A 4B (for teachers): Introduction to Python ProgrammingA Conversation with Sina Bahram (Bring your questions about all things coding!)
Student Activity Presentations 1: CATT Center and WSSB Student Activity Presentations 2: CSB and NYPL Student Activity Presentations 3: WSSB and MSBStudent Activity Presentations 4: The Stephen Perse Foundation Senior School and Royal Priesthood AcademyInside An Internship with GoodMaps: Tim Blackshear and students of CSB
Closing AnnouncementsClosing Announcements Closing Announcements Closing Announcements Three Keys to Becoming a Successful Blind Programmer: Austin Seraphin
Meet KeyCode: an exciting python editor being developed specifically for braille users: Peter Tucic
Exciting Things Happening at Vispero: Glen Gordon
APH’s Road to Code: Greg Stilson
Closing Announcements: Coding Camp Info and Awards

Daily Schedule

With the exception of Keynote Addresses, every session will allow for Q&A time with the speakers. (Schedule subject to updates, so please check back occasionally.)

Monday

TimeSessionSpeaker
PDT 8:30-8:35 a.m.
EDT 11:30-11:35 a.m.
Opening AnnouncementsAPH
PDT 8:35-8:55 a.m.
EDT 11:35-11:55 a.m.
KeynoteTed Henter, JAWS/Henter-Joyce
PDT 8:55-9:00 a.m.
EDT 11:55 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Panel IntroductionsTed Henter, JAWS/Henter-Joyce, Moderator
PDT 9:00-9:50 a.m.
EDT 12:00-12:50 p.m.
Panel and Q&A: Getting Started with Coding Joe Hodge, APH
Celeste Simone, Northside ISD
Theo Holroyd, The Stephen Perse Foundation Senior School
Tim Regan, Raspberry Pi Foundation
10 minutesBreak
PDT 10:00-10:50 a.m.
EDT 1:00-1:50 p.m.
Concurrent Session and Q&A (for Students)
Jump into Code Jumper
Robin Lowell, i2e
Beth Dudycha, i2e
PDT 10:00-10:50 a.m.
EDT 1:00-1:50 p.m.
Concurrent Session and Q&A (for Teachers)
Beyond the Block: How to bring coding concepts
to life
Celeste Simone, Northside ISD
10 minutesBreak
PDT 11:00-11:55 a.m.
EDT 2:00-2:55 p.m.
Student Presentations and Q&AJason Martin, CATT, AIDB
Amanda Rodda, WSSB
PDT 11:55 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
EDT 2:55-3:00 p.m.
Closing Announcements APH

Tuesday

TimeSessionSpeaker
PDT 8:30-8:35 a.m.
EDT 11:30-11:35 a.m.
Opening AnnouncementsAPH
PDT 8:35-8:55 a.m.
EDT 11:35-11:55 a.m.
KeynoteLéonie Watson, Tetralogical
PDT 8:55-9:00 a.m.
EDT 11:55 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Panel IntroductionsKen Perry, APH, Moderator
PDT 9:00-9:50 a.m.
EDT 12:00-12:50 p.m.
Panel and Q&A: Web Design and Accessibility with HTML and CSS Léonie Watson, Tetralogical
Michael Forzano, Amazon
Jason Grieves, Apple
10 minutesBreak
PDT 10:00-10:50 a.m.
EDT 1:00-1:50 p.m.
Concurrent Session with Q&A (for Students)
Break out with HTML: navigate an escape room to learn about accessibility with HTML
Vanessa Herndon, CSB
PDT 10:00-10:50 a.m.
EDT 1:00-1:50 p.m.
Concurrent Session with Q&A (for Teachers)
Accessible Web Development
Chancey Fleet, NYPL
Dr. Claire Kearney-Volpe, NYPL
10 minutesBreak
PDT 11:00-11:55 a.m.
EDT 2:00-2:55 p.m.
Student Presentations and Q&AVanessa Herndon, CSB
Chancey Fleet, NYPL
Dr. Claire Kearney-Volpe, NYPL
PDT 11:55 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
EDT 2:55-3:00 p.m.
Closing Announcements APH

Wednesday

TimeSessionSpeaker
PDT 8:30-8:35 a.m.
EDT 11:30-11:35 a.m.
Opening AnnouncementsAPH
PDT 8:35-8:55 a.m.
EDT 11:35-11:55 a.m.
KeynoteAndreas Stefik, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
PDT 8:55-9:00 a.m.
EDT 11:55 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Panel Introductions Andreas Stefik, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, Moderator
PDT 9:00-9:50 a.m.
EDT 12:00-12:50 p.m.
Panel and Q&A: Understanding Coding Concepts with QuorumJill Dunaway, CATT, AIDB
Scott Jaffray, CSB
William Allee, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
10 minutesBreak
PDT 10:00-10:50 a.m.
EDT 1:00-1:50 p.m.
Concurrent Session with Q&A (for Students)
Robots, Games, and Apps, Oh My!
Amanda Rodda, WSSB
PDT 10:00-10:50 a.m.
EDT 1:00-1:50 p.m.
Concurrent Session with Q&A (for Teachers)
Getting Started with Quorum, an Accessible Programming and Research-Based Experience
Gina Fugate, MSB
10 minutesBreak
PDT 11:00-11:55 a.m.
EDT 2:00-2:55 p.m.
Student Presentations and Q&AGina Fugate, MSB
Amanda Rodda, WSSB
PDT 11:55 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
EDT 2:55-3:00 p.m.
Closing Announcements APH

Thursday

TimeSessionSpeaker
PDT 8:30-8:35 a.m.
EDT 11:30-11:35 a.m.
Opening AnnouncementsAPH
PDT 8:35-8:55 a.m.
EDT 11:35-11:55 a.m.
KeynoteMichael Curran, NV Access Limited
PDT 8:55-9:00 a.m.
EDT 11:55 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Panel IntroductionsKen Perry, APH
PDT 9:00-9:50 a.m.
EDT 12:00-12:50 p.m.
Panel and Q&A: Where Can Python Take You? Michael Curran, NV Access Limited
Michael Whapples, APH
Radhika Grover, SPEL Technologies
Syed Billah, The Pennsylvania State University
10 minutesBreak
PDT 10:00-10:50 a.m.
EDT 1:00-1:50 p.m.
Concurrent Session with Q&A (for Students) Destroying Ophidiophobia Ken Perry, APH
PDT 10:00-10:50 a.m.
EDT 1:00-1:50 p.m.
Concurrent Session with Q&A (for Teachers) Introduction to Python ProgrammingRadhika Grover, SPEL Technologies Inc.
Luke Seibert, SPEL Technologies Inc.
10 minutesBreak
PDT 11:00-11:55 a.m.
EDT 2:00-2:55 p.m.
Student Presentations and Q&ATheo Holroyd, The Stephen Perse Foundation Senior School
Tim Regan, Raspberry Pi Foundation
Braeden Robinson, Royal Priesthood Academy
PDT 11:55 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
EDT 2:55-3:00 p.m.
Closing Announcements APH

Friday

TimeSessionSpeaker
PDT 8:30-8:35 a.m.
EDT 11:30-11:35 a.m.
Opening AnnouncementsAPH
PDT 8:35-8:55 a.m.
EDT 11:35-11:55 a.m.
KeynoteKisiah Timmons, Yahoo, Inc.
PDT 8:55-9:00 a.m.
EDT 11:55 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Panel IntroductionsKisiah Timmons, Yahoo, Inc., Moderator
PDT 9:00-9:50 a.m.
EDT 12:00-12:50 p.m.
Panel and Q&A: Coding—It’s Not Just for Geeks Greg Stilson, APH
Steve Clower, Desmos
Peter Tucic, HumanWare
John Gardner, ViewPlus
5 minutesBreak
PDT 9:55-10:25 a.m.
EDT 12:55-1:25 p.m.
CareerConnect Success StoryRichard Rueda, APH, Interviewer
Andres Gonzalez, Apple, Interviewee
PDT 10:25-10:55 a.m.
EDT 1:25-1:55 p.m.
A Conversation with Sina BahramSina Bahram, Prime Access Consulting, Inc.
5 minutesBreak
PDT 11:00-11:15 a.m.
EDT 2:00-2:15 p.m.
Inside An Internship with GoodMapsJim Blackshear and Intern team, CSB
PDT 11:15-11:30 a.m.
EDT 2:15-2:30 p.m.
Three Keys to Becoming a Successful Blind ProgrammerAustin Seraphin, Self-employed
PDT 11:30-11:45 a.m.
EDT 2:30-2:45 p.m.
Meet KeyCode: an exciting python editor being developed specifically for braille usersPeter Tucic, HumanWare
PDT 11:45 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
EDT 2:45-3:00 p.m.
Exciting Things Happening at VisperoGlen Gordon, Vispero
PDT 12:00-12:15 p.m.
EDT 3:00-3:15 p.m.
APH’s Road to CodeGreg Stilson, APH
PDT 12:15-12:30 p.m.
EDT 3:15-3:30 p.m.
Awards and Closing AnnouncementsAPH
Register Here

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.